Simple Minds… Alive and kicking

Well am still alive and attempting to kick.Am sat at a friends house, a using her pc to access new Jack pics which are cool, and failing miserably to add new stuff to my phone! Currently sleeping on another friends floor as a quest for  making the system recognise my existence continues!

Would have been Dads birthday. Was a wierd day, most of wich was spent in telf town center. Seems strange he would have been 77. Seems stranger that its a year ago on the 28th that he died. Been a strange year i guess.

I’ve moved 4 times, been engaged (and then became vacant lol) lost a father and a child, found that no matter where i go people do exist which makes me believe human nature does have its good points as well as its bad.

Funny.. im reminded of Stalks of Last years Fruit again.. By Penelope Swales… "They open up their homes" etc etc. Will copy the lyrics here for those who dont know the words!

Thanks to those who’ve passed on good wishes… I will survive.. i have no choice.. but it makes it easier knowing people give a shit lol

Stalks Of Last Year’s Fruit

I sit in the sun
Listen to the bees hum in the wisteria
Can’t help but imagine
The sort of honey you would have called forth from this area
I miss your happiness, my friend

Hey, you should be careful
Misery is habit forming (Take it from me)
You can get to thinking
That you’re not really living properly if you’re not suffering
I miss that smile you used to wear
That gift for joy you have
Must still be in there somewhere

Yes, I know you stuffed it up
You tell me all about it every day
It’s gone on long enough
And you know that, and still you act
As if the blues were here to stay
It’s ‘coz you’re so damn stubborn
You don’t wanna let go of anything
Not the things you might have had
Not the things you haven’t got
And not what used to be

I hate to be harsh, dear
But there’s no excuse for a girl of your class, dear
Someone with your background
To go moonin’ about as if you’re not worth anything
Without a man around
The world is at your feet

Oh darlin’, I know you miss your garden
But we don’t stand and grieve among the stalks of last year’s fruit
We turn them in, we start again
And we call forth something fresh and new
All these dead things you have been clinging to
Will kill you
Get a move on, life is waiting
And you have friends who love you
Everywhere you go, they open up their homes
And they shower the best of love on you
All these dead dreams you have been clinging to
Will twist you

Come sit in the sun
Listen to the bees hum in the wisteria
Can’t help but imagine
The sort of wisdom you’ll be callin’ forth from this experience
I miss your happiness, my friend
Oh, I miss your happiness, my friend
That gift for joy you have
Must still be in there somewhere
The world is at your feet

Leave a Reply

